Catalyst 2022

Catalyst is the cornerstone of our commitment to new writing for the theatre. This project offers in-depth professional development to six early-career writers and three directors. To those selected, we offer the chance to work with an ensemble of professional actors, and highly experienced writing and directing mentors in a safe and supportive space, to hone their craft, develop and showcase their new scripts.

Catalyst 2022 was part of Alchymy festival, The North Wall’s annual new work festival shining a light on the talents of early-career theatre-makers and presenting bold new work.

Catalyst Showcase | Fri 8 April 2022

by Laurie Ogden, directed by Flo Dessau

by Zia Holloway, directed by Zara Ramtohul-Akbur

by Ben Grant, directed by John Livesey

The Eulogy
by Nicky Watkinson, directed by Flo Dessau

The Stories
by Leila Nashef, directed by John Livesey

In My Country
by Hannah Khan, directed by Zara Ramtohul-Akbur

Download the Catalyst 2022 Programme


“The Catalyst Residency has been such a joy to be part of. We’ve had extensive support and guidance from the brilliant North Wall team and the mentors on site, who have really helped me to shape my practice as a writer and consider what I want that practice to be in the future.”
– Leila Nashef, Catalyst Writer

“The past-two weeks of Catalyst have been such a gift. The North Wall is singular in the generosity of its programme: welcoming, mentoring and platforming a diverse group of young artists. I have felt so supported by the team here.”
– John Livesey, Catalyst Director

With thanks to the Garfield Weston Foundation and St Edward’s School for their generous support.

Catalyst Ensemble

Georgia Bruce
Criselda Cabitac
Misha Graham-Patel
Luke Grant
Yolanda Ovide
Maya Pillay
Alex Roberts
Anjelica Serra
Gary Shelford

Catalyst Writers
Ben Grant
Zia Holloway
Hannah Khan
Leila Nashef
Laurie Ogden
Nicky Watkinson

Catalyst Directors
Flo Dessau
John Livesey
Zara Ramtohul-Akbur

Creative Team

Writing Mentors
Emma Dennis-Edwards
Sam Potter

Directing Mentor
Ria Parry

Programme Leads
John Hoggarth
Ria Parry
Amelia Thornber

Technical Team
Clive Stevenson
James Bailey

ArtsLab Company Manager
Alex Lonsdale

Our Spaces
Our History
Contact Us
Receive Our Newsletter

We send emails once a week and promise not to share your details with third parties. Read our policy here.